Legislative Council

(According to seniority)

Name	Division	Date of Appointment
R. O. Grothé. Elisée Thériault. Jacob Nicol. Victor Marchand. Hector Laferté Emile Moreau. Alphonse Raymond. J. L. Barbeau (Speaker). Philipée Brais. Jules Brillant. Frank L. Connors. Robert R. Ness. Félix Messier. Edouard Asselin. Géo. B. Foster. Gérald Martineau. J. Olier Renaud. Patrice Tardif. Joseph Bouland. Joseph Bouland. Joseph Bouland. Joseph Bouland. Joseph Boulander. Joseph Boulander. Joseph Boulander. Joseph Boulander. Ledouard Masson. Albert Bouchard. Jean Barrette. Emile Lesage.	De Salaberry Kennebec Bedford Rigaud Stadacona Leazon De Lorimier Shawinigan Grandville Golfe Mille Isles Inkerman De Lanaudière Wellington Victoria Les Laurentides Alma De la Vallière De la Durantaye Repentigny La Salle Sorel Montarville Rougemont	Dec. 23, 1927 Apr. 23, 1929 Sept. 16, 1929 Apr. 15, 1929 July 23, 1934 June 6, 1939 June 14, 1942 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 12, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 Oct. 19, 1955 Aug. 1, 1955 Aug. 1, 1955

Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Honourable Louis O. Breithaupt, LL.D., Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Mar. 31, 1957, was commissioned to office Jan. 24, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 92.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 98 members elected for a statutory term of five years.

Besides the regular Departments of Government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (R.S.O. 1950, c. 202, as amended 1956, c. 39) each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$3,600 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,800. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a special indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. Each Member of the Cabinet having charge of a Department receives the ordinary indemnity as a Member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$14,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a Department \$10,000. A Minister without Portfolio receives only the indemnity and expense allowance of a Member of the Legislature. By the 1956 amendment, every Minister of the Crown in charge of a Department, the Minister of the Crown who is a member of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, and the Leader of the Opposition receive a representation allowance of \$2,000 per annum.